A municipality is classified as
  •  a village (1,000 people)
  • town (<5,000 people )
  • city (>5,000 people)
Lafayette Parish contains all or part of  five  municipalities:
  • Broussard (part of its annexed
    Lafayette's five municipalities. (Click for a larger image.)
    property is in St. Martin Parish)
  • Carencro
  • Duson (part of Duson is in Acadia Parish)
  • Scott
  • Youngsville
Each municipality has its own elected legislative government—the city council—and a mayor.  All but Duson are classified as cities.  Duson is classified as a town.  It elects a Board of Aldermen.  These five  municipalities are governed in the same way: by the Lawrason Act of the Louisiana Legislature.  More than 75% of the incorporated municipalities in Louisiana are governed according to the Lawrason Act.  It provides a form and framework for municipal government.

The city councils of the municipalities have their  own jurisdiction. They are not part of Lafayette Consolidated Government. However, every resident of a municipality is a part of parish government because he or she lives in Lafayette Parish. Municipal voters in parishwide elections vote for and are represented in parish government by the City-Parish Councilman they elect from their district. 

The city of Lafayette is one of the four in Louisiana that is governed as a city-parish. It is consolidated through a home rule charter—its government and the government of the parish are one and the same. The city of Lafayette  exists as a legal entity, but not as a separate government. The city of Lafayette is a legal entity within Lafayette City-Parish Consolidated Government. It is classified as an urban service district, according to the City-Parish Charter. An urban service district provides specified municipal type services for those living in it, such as fire and police protection within the city limits of Lafayette.


5  municipalities  city of Lafayette within Lafayette Consolidated Government
Created by; governed according to
Lawrason Act of Louisiana Legislature
A Home Rule Charter for the 
Lafayette Consolidated City-Parish Government, 1992
Governed by elected officials:


  • Mayor elected by voters of the city.

  • 5-9 Councilmen or Aldermen
  1. Broussard has 7 Aldermen: 6 districts and 1 elected at large.
  2. Carencro has 5 elected at large.
  3. Duson has 5 aldermen elected at large.
  4. Scott elects  4 councilmen by districts and the Mayor Pro Tem at large. 
  5. Youngsville elects 5 councilmen by divisions.
*Rules for electing councilmen vary for a city, town, and village.

  • Represented by the Parish President, who is elected at large by the voters of the  parish.
  • 9 Councilmen each from 9 different districts elected to represent the city of Lafayette and the whole parish.
  • Powers of the Council
    •  levy taxes for the city with approval of  voters in the municipalities
    • take on debt, issue bonds
    • pass and enforce ordinances with fines or imprisonment
    • approve appointments and staff removals  by the mayor
    • make and/or approve contracts
    • approve annual budget prepared and submitted by the Mayor
    •  levy taxes for  the city of Lafayette and for the parish with a vote of all voters in the parish
    • take on debt, issue bonds
    • grant, renew, or extend franchises
    • require licenses and permits; fix fees
    • make and enforce ordinances through penalities for violation
    • regulate rate or charges for service by Lafayette Consolidated Government, including for the city-owned Lafayette Utilities System
    • make and/or approve contracts
    • adopt annual budget

    Centralized fire dispatch and use of same frequencies for communication are provided by Lafayette Consolidated Government with costs shared by the municipalities. Mutual aid of all necessary fire departments has increased the fire rating for both the municipalities and the parish, lowering insurance costs. Lafayette Consolidated Government has provided some equipment to the other fire departments.

    Through existing intergovernmental agreements with the municipalities the Departments of Lafayette Consolidated Government may provide consultation to make recommendations on problems, but not take on the city's projects or incur cost to the parish government.

    A municipality may contract to pay Lafayette Consolidated Government for specific assistance.

    Lafayette Municipalities Compared (Click to enlarge)

    Comparing Taxes in Lafayette Parish:

    Amount of Property Millage (Rate)Tax and  Sales Tax

     Rate of Property Tax
    Sales Tax
    0 mills
    1975 1 cent
    1992 1 cent
     Carencro  3.36 mills
    1967 1 cent
    1983 1 cent
     Duson  7.22 mills
    1969 1 cent
    1983 1 cent
     Lafayette as urban service district
    17.94 (8.18  mills are for police & fire)
    1961 1 cent
    1985 1 cent
     Scott 3.36 mills

    1968 1 cent
    1984 1 cent
    11.68 mills
    1968 1 cent
    1981 1 cent
    1999  1/2 cent

    Business-type (Enterprise) Funds by Municipality
    (money raised by the service to pay for itself)

    water, sewerage, garbage collection
     Carencro  gas, water, sewer, garbage collection
     Lafayette as urban service district
    separate funds administered by Lafayette Consolidated Government for city residents:
    •  sales of Lafayette Utilities System
    • ILOT (in lieu of taxes) payment from Lafayette Utilities System
    • sales of Communications System
    • Lafayette Public Power Authority
     Scott  gas, water, sewerage, garbage
     Youngsville  water, sewerage, sanitation

    Affiliations of the Municipalities of Lafayette Parish:
    • Lafayette Fire Protection Association (made up of the Lafayette Fire Chief and a representative of each of the volunteer fire departments)
    • Neighborhood Associations for Parks and Recreation (volunteers)
    • Louisiana Rural Water Association
    • Louisiana Municipal Association